In Search for Gluten

FD005285If you have decided to go gluten free, you need to be aware of all its forms.  Wheat, barley and rye may be obvious things to avoid, but here is a list of other common items that do contain gluten:  Brewers yeast, Bulgur, Durum, Farro, Graham flour, Hydrolyzed wheat protein. Kamut, Malt  (all kinds), Seitan ( a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in vegetarian dishes), Semolina, Spelt, Triticale.   Less familiar ingredients are Atta or chapati flour, Einkorn and Emmer which are types of wheat, Farina and Fu which is a dried gluten product made from wheat  and is used in some Asian dishes.  So read your labels.

beer-glassesSources of these can be found in common food products such as  beer, ale or lager, breads, broth, soup, soup bases, cereals, cookies and crackers, some chocolates and licorice, flavored coffees and teas, imitation bacon bits and seafoods, medications (your pharmacist should know), pastas, processed foods, salad dressings, sausages, hot dogs, deli meats, sauces, marinades, gravies, seasonings and soy  sauce.

Unknown-1Remember this is a learning experience so take your time.  In the beginning it may take longer to get through the grocery store but as you become more familiar with these sources, time in the grocery store will go back to normal. But whenever in doubt, ask.  Call the food company and see if their products include gluten.  For some going gluten free can be a daunting task and if this process becomes overwhelming, start with the obvious.  Cut back on wheat, barley and rye.  Then take another step such as changing up the type of soy sauce (there are gluten free ones on the market).

“One may walk over the higher mountain one step at a time.”  John Wanamaker


This entry was posted in Ingredients, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *